To Tip or Not to Tip

Greetings!

Yesterday we had an interesting  virtual conversation on tipping your service employees. There were many comments in which consumers were being bashed due to the lack of tipping their service person. It has become a customary gesture, that in the United States consumers used to tip according to the service they received. Today, many are demanding the gratuity and will shame you if you do not provide him or her a monetary reward for their services.

In some countries, tipping is directly included in your total amount to be settled whereas in other areas, it is up to the consumer to tip at his or her discretion. However, in the States, some industries have begun to print at the bottom of their receipts the suggested tipping amount the consumer should leave. Do you think this is appropriate? Should tipping be automatically included? or have we gone too far in the tipping area; where it is now a requirement vs a voluntary gesture?

After reading several articles on tipping etiquette, it is suggested to tip service employees from your FedEx delivery person to your plumber? Many folks provide some sort of service, where does one draw the line before tipping everyone for everything they do.

#Lifestyle

CRL

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “To Tip or Not to Tip

  1. I believe that tipping is the consumer’s discretion and should indicate the level of service one receives. I’ll gladly tip someone that does their job well. If they go above and beyond, so will my wallet. I have a habit of being a big tipper, but only if someone treats me well and provides service at a satisfactory or above effort. Of course, I realize everyone has bad days, so I won’t always get top notch service, but I also think their bad day is not my fault. I’ve been known to leave a penny tip in those instances, a napkin note that says why I’m not leaving a tip, or a conversation with a manager. I’ll also talk to a manager and sing high praise for someone that goes above and beyond. That might result in more money down the road for the employee.

    On the other hand, if I’m having a bad day, they have the power to change that simply by saying hello with a smile and performing their job adequately. I’ll then tip them between 15-20%. I’m not looking to get my ass kissed, but I’m not looking to be an invisible Customer either.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your response!! Your input is greatly appreciated!

      I completely agree and I’ve been known to be a generous tipper myself. However, when do we draw the line when it comes to rewarding service employees? I’ve never had to use an outside plumber, but do we have to tip plumbers? This was one of the service personnel that was being suggested that should be tipped. Just curious.

      CLR

      Like

  2. In my experience the receipts that have tipping info at the bottom list various amounts. It says how much it would be for three levels. I know 15% and 20% are two of them. I don’t remember if the other one is 10% or 25%. I really appreciate that they have started doing this. That way I don’t have to do calculations in my head and I can decide at which level I want to tip.

    This week I went to a car wash that I haven’t been to for 20 years or so. I stopped going when the person drying my car told me off for not tipping him. I had never even considered tipping for that kind of work. I appreciated knowing that those workers usually are tipped but I sure didn’t appreciate being treated that way.

    I’m okay about tipping….. at my discretion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree! Tipping should be at the discretion of the consumer and the lack of it, should not shame the individual at all! Thank you for responding. The other recommended tip percentage is 18% 🙂 Thanks again!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

